Western Great Lakes Bird and Bat Observatory

Meet Our New Board Members


The Board voted to approve the nominations of Joanna Demas, Nicholas Gall, Tom Mlada, Brittany Peters, Gregg Petersen, and Tom Prestby at a special meeting held on January 16, 2022.

“I couldn’t be more pleased to welcome them to the Observatory,” said Board Chair Charles Hagner. “And I am especially proud of the members of the Board’s Search Committee, including Science Director Jennifer Phillips-Vanderberg, who worked for months to create and execute the recruitment process that ultimately brought this talented, experienced group to the Board. The Observatory owes the committee a debt of thanks.”

The six new directors bring the total number of directors on the Observatory’s Board to fifteen. Attorney Leakhena Au stepped off the Board when her term ended in October 2021, while naturalist William Volkert and development professional Nancy Hintz started three-year terms in November 2020, following the retirement of founding directors Glen Fredlund and Terry Knudsen.

For background information on all board members click here.